Is Brown Basmati Rice Gluten-Free?

There are many varieties of rice, each with its own unique nutritional and size characteristics. You might consider switching to healthier rice varieties if you’re trying to change your diet.

Basmati rice from the Indo-Pak subcontinent is widely regarded as the best quality rice in the world. Both white and brown basmati rice is available.

While each type has its own unique taste and texture, the quality and nutritional values remain the same. Is brown basmati rice gluten-free? You don’t have to be concerned.  All rice in its plain form is gluten-free.

You can use any type of rice, including white, brown, jasmine, or other varieties; they all are gluten-free. You can avoid gluten by making sure that the spices and other recipes you use with rice are gluten-free.

Most spices and other ingredients that we use with rice can contain gluten, which can contaminate the rice. We will also discuss important information if you’re switching to a gluten-free diet.

What Is Gluten?

Gluten is a protein found in grains like wheat, rye, and barley. Gluten aims to bind and hold the food particles together and add stretching properties to the food.

Take the example of pizza dough. If there were no gluten in the dough, it would fall apart when you try to stretch it into the pizza shape

Gluten is naturally found only in the grains mentioned above. However, to add gluten’s useful properties, it is mixed into other foods artificially. It mostly works to preserve the taste and texture of processed foods. 

Gluten & Its Effects On Health:

The biggest source of gluten for our body is wheat grain consumption. As we all know, wheat is a big part of our daily diet. It is present in most food we consume in one form or other.

Consumption of wheat grain has a lot of health benefits as well. Experts say that people who consume more wheat grain have a lower chance of developing serious health conditions like heart diseases and blood pressure problems. 

Gluten also acts as a very good prebiotic. It feeds and nurtures the good bacteria of our body. Arabinoxylan oligosaccharide is prebiotic that comes from consuming gluten.

These bacteria stimulate the growth of bifidobacteria, which improves our colon’s health. It reduces the risk of gastrointestinal disease and irritable bowel syndrome. 

The problem with gluten is that some people can’t digest it. Some people’s bodies think of it as a harmful substance and attack it. So, it ends up doing more harm than good to the body.

It can happen to anyone but most commonly to people who have celiac disease. Aside from celiac disease, if you suffer from a wheat allergy, you should avoid gluten as well. 

Kinds Of Rice That Are Not Gluten Free:


All rice are gluten-free in their natural form. Whether you buy white rice, brown rice, basmati rice, or wild rice, they are all gluten-free in their natural form. However, there are two ways your rice can contact gluten before you consume them. 

Cross Contamination: Sometimes, when manufacturers process and package rice, the equipment is the same that they use to process and package other grains, like wheat or barley. This can cause cross-contamination, and the rice might no longer be gluten-free. To avoid this scenario, read the box or package carefully before buying. Buy rice that has a certified sticker of gluten-free. 

Recipes and Spices: You might buy certified gluten-free rice and contaminate it yourself by adding certain spices or mixing it with other dishes. For example, if you mix white or brown rice with sushi, the dish is no longer gluten-free. Sushi contains high amounts of gluten and can be harmful if your body can’t process gluten. So, to keep your rice gluten-free, make sure the dishes you are mixing with your rice are gluten-free as well.

Is Jasmine Rice Gluten-Free?

Jasmine rice is one of the healthiest rice types available in the market. It has a longer grain than other varieties, and it’s an export of Thailand.

Rice enthusiasts love jasmine rice because of the mildly sweet taste and fresh aroma. The jasmine rice is available in both white and brown varieties, so you don’t have to compromise. 

As for, is jasmine rice gluten-free? It’s a yes and no answer. In the natural form, both white and brown jasmine rice is gluten-free. However, if you buy flavored and processed jasmine rice, they might contain gluten-based ingredients.

Is Rice Flour Gluten-Free?

People who have celiac disease or gluten intolerance might switch to rice flour to substitute wheat flour. Just as all rice is gluten-free, the rice flour is also completely gluten-free and the best choice if you want to maintain a gluten-free diet. 

However, being gluten-free is the only advantage rice flour has over wheat flour. For people suffering from celiac disease, rice flour is a great option. If you want food with a better taste, texture, and nutritional value, you should go with wheat flour. The difference is not significant but certainly noticeable. 


Is Rice A Grain?

Yes, all types of rice are considered grain. Rice is one of the world’s most-produced grains, feeding as many as 3 billion people worldwide. Rice is further classified according to the four different grain types, namely:

  • Short Grain.
  • Medium Grain.
  • Long Grain.
  • Rough Rice.

Is Jasmine Rice Healthier Than White Rice?

The answer to this question depends on what kind of jasmine rice you are considering. The nutritional value of white jasmine rice is similar to other white rice varieties.

However, when it comes to black and brown jasmine rice, they have a higher nutritional value than any white rice variety. They have a higher amount of minerals, fiber, and vitamins, making them much healthier than white rice.

Is Basmati Rice Good For Health?

Yes, basmati rice has certain nutritional benefits that make them a fan favorite. Here are the health benefits of basmati rice:

  • Basmati rice has a low glycemic index (G) in comparison to other types of rice. Low GI is beneficial for diabetic patients. 
  • The high fiber count and low-fat content make it healthy for your heart. It not only prevents any serious conditions but improves the cardiovascular system. 
  • If you are looking to lose weight, eating basmati rice will help you achieve that without causing fatigue or weakness. The high fiber keeps your energy up and your weight down. 

Is Brown Rice Good For Celiac Disease?

Yes. Brown rice is very good for celiac disease as it brings the required nutrition without the harmful gluten. If you want a gluten-free diet, integrate brown rice into your meals. You will instantly see great results. 


Hopefully, now you know, is brown basmati rice gluten-free or not? Gluten is a good ingredient that certainly is important for food to summarize it all.

However, it doesn’t suit some people, so gluten-free food items are getting so common day by day. People who suffer from gluten intolerance or celiac disease will certainly want a substitute.

Also Read:

How to reheat a burrito in simple steps

How To Make Frozen Meatballs Taste Better?

How Long Does Tuna Salad Last?

Can You Freeze Chicken Salad?

Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of, Inc, or its affiliates.

Kapnos Taverna Author - Small
About the author

Natalie is a food enthusiast who spends all of her time trying out new recipes, testing out new appliances, and making her kitchen as awesome as possible. She is a professional writer and blogs here about her love of food & kitchen.

Leave a Comment